Ocean Thunder Series event 1 image


The Ocean Thunder Series is an annual professional surfboat racing series of events held at Dee Why Beach, Sydney, attracting the best surf rowers in the world.

Surfboat rowing may not the best-known water sport in Australia but it is certainly one of the most spectacular.

Teams of five athletes (4 rowers and one sweep) race off the beach, through the elements of the surf break in a short course designed outside the boundaries of traditional surf life-saving events and return back to shore for a beach run finish.

Ocean Thunder Series event 1 picc

This is one thrilling sport to watch and requires incredible strength, courage and finely honed skills.

These surfboats are the original rescue craft used by surf clubs around the country and racing events can be dated back to the early 1900’s in NSW. Since their replacement with the modern inflatables, surfboat rowing and racing has evolved as a serious sport, keeping the tradition alive and the sport thriving with intense regional, state and national competitions.

Elite teams train together intensively several times a week and supplement this with intense strength and endurance training.

The Ocean Thunder Surfboat Series started just over a decade ago and is a prestigious, professional surfboat event, restricted to only the most elite surf boat crews.

Ocean Thunder Series event 1 picb

This year at Sydney Beach Homes we are delighted to be supporting our friends and colleagues at the South Curl Curl SLSC by sponsoring a surf boat in the Ocean Thunder event series.  This is an extreme and thrilling sport to watch –and even more so to participate in.

We are excited to share some highlights with you from the first event and will keep you updated with our progress through the series – check in regularly with our Facebook page for posts and updates.

The Sydney Beach Homes surfboat crew did an amazing job on Saturday 11th November in the first event, conquering 4ft surf, to get through to the quarter-finals – well done guys!

We were there to cheer them on and thrilled to see this exceptional team in action. Huge thanks to our elite team of athletes, Rob Lowery, Chis Hughes, Trent Rogers, Jordan Thurlow and Mike Egan –  we can’t wait for the next one.

This unique and iconic Aussie sport is incredible to watch, so if you have never experienced the spectacle, we’d love to see you at Dee Why on 9th December to catch the next event.

Ocean Thunder Series event 1 pica